My First Boundary Waters Adventure

edited

So I started this site to help inspire people to go out and look for adventures close to where they live. Normally when we think of adventures it is extreme – a rim to rim to rim hike at the Grand Canyon – cliff jumping in Hawaii – island hopping in the Philippines – These are sweet and awesome but you can’t do that everyday.

The trips posted here are mainly the things I do around the Twin Cities (Minneapolis, St. Paul in Minnesota, USA) for weekday, weekend, or the longer camping trip.

Attached is my first unwieldy pack when I went on a trip to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area. It’s a wilderness preserve in northern Minnesota that stretches up to the border and connects with Quetico Provincial Park in Canada and continues on from there. Pretty amazing, because of how continuous and large the wild area is. We did a short 4 day trip (thurs-sunday).103_0541

Anyway, I’d like to improve on this pack because it was kinda heavy and mad unwieldy. I’ll post my budget friendly, high performing equipment upgrades as I get them.

I’ll also post a trip report of this camping trip and other trips that we have done (biking, camping, hiking, or whatever).

These are trips you can do yourself if you live in the Twin Cities area, or can inspire you to search for similar adventures wherever you live.

4 thoughts on “My First Boundary Waters Adventure

  1. Yo! I’m from the Twin Cities too! I’ve always wanted to do a 3 or 4 day Boundary Waters trip but have yet to do it! Good for you! Definately gonna follow your blog to see what other adventures you do in the city, maybe I’ll even see ya around : )

    • Sweet sounds good. Glad to have you following. I used to work at a hospital and nurses seemed to always be the liveliest of the bunch. Got to get out and travel too. I think 3-4 days is a great length for a trip, especially a first trip. A big chunk of the first day was getting the canoes from the outfitter, to the put in, and launched, and the cars tucked away, and paddling out far enough that you have a relatively remote area.

      I spotted some lookouts and sand “beaches” along the Mississippi River trail that I want to figure out how to get to.

Leave a Reply

